What we could have been 

It’s the middle of the night,
The street lights are dim,
The silence echoes in my ears.

I stare at my ceiling,
And start counting the stars,
The stars that I cannot see.

My mind wanders,
And thoughts of you appeared,
And I know.

I know that it would’ve been difficult,
I know that it is now no longer possible,
But I wonder what we could’ve been.

I close my eyes,
The silence continues,
I kick away the blankets covering my body.

My defenses have been enabled,
My laughter restored,
But from time to time, I think if I could’ve done anything different.

I try to forget,
I try move on,
But I know.

I know that you aren’t the first,
I know you won’t be the last,
But I wonder what we could have been.

We would’ve been equals – standing shoulder to shoulder in the fight of life.
We would’ve been best friends – telling each other anything and everything.
We would’ve been partners – keeping an eye on each other’s back.
We would’ve been family – providing a place of shelter and comfort.

But you.
You gave up before we even started.
You didn’t give us a chance to begin.
You fled at the first alternate option.
You were a damn coward.

And I know.
I know the obstacles that you saw,
I know the reason for your lack of courage,
I know that you made a logical decision,
I know I can’t fault you for your choice.

So it hurts.

It’s the middle of the night,
The street lights are dim,
The silence echoes in my ears.
So I sit up.. And write a poem about what we could’ve been.

unforgivingAthena

Leave a Reply

